Friends That Turn Into Family

Moms weekend is always kind of an interesting weekend for me. Its a huge deal and hotels are booked almost a year ahead of time, basically as soon as they release the date. Thousands of moms, aunts, and grandma’s come to WSU to see their kids. The school has so many amazing things to do, it truly is a really cool thing, and such a big deal.

Of course my mom never wants to come. She’s “just not that type of mom.” But that’s okay because this year I got to share my best friend’s mom and grandma. Because we made friends over here at college I hadn’t ever actually met her family yet. They were amazing, just as awesome as Katie! They took me right in, gave me a ticket to Jerry Seinfeild, fed me wine and pizza, and let Katie and I talk. We talked about anything and everything and Mom and Ganny were just happy to be there listening. It seems like such a simple thing, but it was kind of mind blowing to me to see what big love they all have for each other. I felt more at home then I have since I don’t know when. I honestly think my boyfriend is the only person to make me feel that way, especially that quick!

They came to my apartment and we had a glass of wine here while they looked at all my stuff. Ganny told me “I hope you don’t take offense to this, but being here with your records, floor pillow and yin yang wind chime is taking me back to the seventies.” uh. No offense taken!!

20140424-064642.jpg

I got home after spending over four hours in the library last night to  a big package sitting outside my door. Sure enough, it’s from Gannny. I couldn’t wait to rip open the box and seeing what’s inside. First I saw a piece of paper with the most heartfelt letter I have probably ever received in my life. She starts her letter by saying

“I can’t tell you how nice it was to meet you. You remind me of me when I was 19. I don’t know what you believe in, but I am sure we were related in another lifetime. It’s good to know you again”

She then offers me her or record player that was her grandmothers, and ends the letter by saying

“I sense something very special in you and I feel privileged to have you in my life. Enjoy the music, that is what life is all about”

In the box she gave me four amazing records, all from the 70’s. All bluesy rock. Plus the beach boys. I was on Cloud nine after my weekend with them, and my thoughts still flutter back to all those good feelings. So to know that the feeling is reciprocated fills me with gratitude and excitement for our future. I can’t wait to see where all these relationships go.

20140424-065154.jpg

Jackson Browne, Chicago, The Beach Boys, and Blood Sweat & Tears

It really is true. All you need is Love. And some good music. 😉

6 thoughts on “Friends That Turn Into Family

  1. This is an amazing story! My friends at college have truly become my family too, and since I go to school so far away from home my friends’ parents have been wonderful about taking me in for breaks and letting me join in on dinners out when they visit. They’ve become family!

    Like

  2. Pingback: How Exciting! | Modern Rocker ☾

Leave a Reply ☾

